I’m grateful to a Louisiana Master Naturalist member for these suggested activities to celebrate Earthday 2020 at a safe social distance!

We hope you and  your families are staying well!

I want to share some online resources for honoring Earth Day with social distancing. Hope they appeal to you.

Be well and happy, I pray.

*     https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XBrnnByieL4 . YouTube (5:28 min) video from the American Museum of Natural History = Earth Day 1970 – 2020: 50th Anniversary || Time Will Tell. 18Apr2020.

*     EarthFest at Home, Part of Milstein Science Series, Wed 22 Apr 2020 [10am-9pm, EDT]
American Museum of Natural History https://www.amnh.org/calendar/earthfest-2020?utm_source=tmatm&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=200417MKTYouTubeLive&utm_term=subscriber&utm_content=version_A&sourcenumber=28418

The Museum’s buildings are closed, but you can still celebrate the 50th anniversary of Earth Day at our family-friendly, all-day online festival honoring our planet. 

10 am EDT (9 am CDT): Green Thumb for Families. Explore botanical biodiversity from home! Submit photos and questions to expert botanist Donald McClelland and learn from him about the plants that live with you and those visible from your window. Then, participate in a special workshop where you’ll learn how to plant your own garden and create life right in your own kitchen! Whether it is herbs and vegetables for eating or flowers to admire and decorate your space, everyone will be able to participate of this special green activity with whatever they have available at home. [Check out the list of materials for your mini garden at the website.]

11 am EDT (10 am CDT): Iceberg Bits: Understanding Rivers of Ice. Tune in to watch facilitator Laurel Zaima from the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory present activities demonstrating glacier physics through experimentation with Glacier Goo, a substance you can create at home. Named for small pieces of ice found in both Arctic and Antarctic, “Bergy Bits” in nature are small pieces of floating ice that break from an iceberg, ice shelf, or glacier. Join in by doing these experiments at home to better understand these rivers of ice. [Check out the ingredients and directions for making your “Glacier Goo” at the website.]

Noon EDT (11 am CDT): Field Trip earth – Live Watch Party. Gather the whole family for a live flight around the world to marvel at our planet’s natural wonders—from the Amazon Rainforest to the Sahara Desert, the Great Barrier Reef, and the Himalayas! Join Director of Astrovisualization Carter Emmart and Museum astrophysicist Jackie Faherty as we blast off into the outer reaches of our atmosphere and see our planet from space. Make sure to come with questions for our presenters to answer live!

1 pm EDT (noon CDT): 50 Years of Earth Day – YouTube Watch Party. What has happened to our planet in the 50 years since the creation of Earth Day? Learn about the most significant developments to our environment in the last half century through the thoughtful infographic videos created by the Museum’s Science Visualization team since 2017. The watch party will include a live chat with Museum CuratorNathalie Goodkin, and Ana Luz Porzecanski, director of the Center for Biodiversity and Conservation, and Laura Moustakerski, writer and producer of the Earth Day 2020 video

6 pm EDT (5 pm CDT): Venus, Earth, and Mars – Live Watch Party. Join us for a night out in the Goldilocks Zone with planetary geologist Martha Gilmore and the Museum’s Director of Astrovisualization Carter Emmart. Hop aboard a live flight to unveil the mysteries of Earth’s toxic twin, Venus, and the dynamic nature of our planetary neighbors. What can Venus and Mars teach us about climate change and the unique conditions that support life on Earth?

8 pm EDT (7 pm CDT): Earth Trivia! A Toast to the Planet!       Think you know the Earth? Prove it! Pour yourself a glass of your favorite drink and join us for this virtual trivia evening game co-hosted by the Museum and the NYC Trivia League. Gather a team or play solo to compete for a chance to win a spot at a virtual happy hour hosted by Hayden Planetarium Director Neil deGrasse Tyson, featuring Museum scientists.

The best way to play along is on two devices—use one to tune in at 7:55 pm to NYC Trivia League’s Instagram Live, and the second to access your Google Form Digital Answer Sheet. (Check back on Wednesday for the link to the Google Form.)

Trivia Rules:

1. Quizzes last about 50 minutes and are designed so that you and your friends can discuss the answers. There are 40 questions that count for ONE point each.

2. The top 10 teams each night get 10 bonus points. Teams ranked 11 through 25 each night receive 5 bonus points. A perfect night is getting all 40 questions plus a top-10 finish, giving the team 40+10 for a score of 50.

3. Our only rule is no cheating. Please be respectful!

NOTES. The Milstein Science Series is proudly sponsored by the Irma and Paul Milstein Family. In 2020, the Museum is celebrating the legacy of Charles Hayden, whose vision made the Hayden Planetarium possible and brought the universe to New York City.

*    Keep Louisiana Beautiful has ideas for how to celebrate Earth Day and the Love the Boot campaign while social distancing. https://keeplouisianabeautiful.org/love-the-boot/ . COVID-19 Update. Love the Boot Week cleanup and beautification events scheduled for April 20-26, 2020 are canceled to avoid the spread of Coronavirus (COVID-19). Thank you to all of our hard-working partners, sponsors and volunteers who have planned and prepared for local events. During this challenging time, we will remain a resource for everyone who is seeking ways to connect and improve their environment. Check out our at-home, eco-friendly activities to help us all feel connected to one another and our community. Share photos of your activities with #LoveTheBoot.

*    The Rutgers Cooperative Extension will offer an “Earth Day at Home” webinar series. The webinars will air Mondays from April 20 to June 29, and focus on steps to protect the environment, including how to make homes sustainable, environmentally friendly lawn care, and composting to reduce plastic waste. The live one-hour interactive sessions begin at 6:30 p.m. EDT (5:30 pm CDT).