By Jerry Short

 

Sunday 9:15
I’ve just started the 2nd trip to Edinburgh  filming again for Visit Scotland. As my train pulled out of Bristol Temple Meads station it felt good to be on the road again or should that be rail again?
Amazingly, the sky was bright blue except for one slightly embarrassed looking cloud hovering over the horizon like the last guest at a party looking to see which direction its mates had gone off in. The plan is to meet up with Andy and Charles in Kendal – a town I have never been to. Part of me expects it to be neat and tidy  with a slight minty smell proving that it is one of the few places in the UK where residents can have their cake and eat it.
We intend putting the Panasonic AF101 camera through some new settings to reduce the picture noise to a minimum before heading up to Edinburgh the following morning. We will stay with Charles in his cottage in a village in Cumbria. It’s fairly remote, not to the point where people still point at aeroplanes but if you need an AAA battery you have to plan a special journey into your day.

My day had actually got off to a good start as I had found a fiver in the pocket of a jacket I hadn’t worn for ages. Outside, the glorious February sunshine had lifted my spirits and my Pakistani taxi driver had surprised me when I asked him how much I owed him as he dropped me off outside the station. “Just pay me whatever you feel” he’d told me.  We had struck up an conversation about where I was going and where he was from and in the seven min journey from my house we had established that I was involved with filming animal conservation and he was from the mountains in North of Pakistan and loved the outdoors and hunting. We had both laughed at our polarised views on wildlife.

Wild Open Eye have filmed conservation projects in various corners of the globe and we are very pleased to be working for Visit Scotland again. Although not filming any wildlife this time, we will be shooting landscapes and scenics in HD for their ‘B’ roll. These are the shots they give foreign broadcasters  in the run up to the Olympics, for editing their own ‘this is what Scotland looks like” trailer before cutting to the football which will be coming from Glasgow. We will also be interviewing a few important Scottish cultural figures too, so an interesting schedule to look forward to.
By 13:30 I was sat in Oxenholme station waiting for a train into Kendal. The station sign proudly declaring that this was the Lake District named after commonly found physical features I suppose. It could have been the soggy hill district or wind swept moor district but Lakes sounded better. Naming areas on that basis makes many of our cities the chewing gum stuck to pavement district or stuck at red lights district. Not quite the same are they?

… and in case you are wondering about what happened to the fiver it is now in the pocket of my outdoor loving taxi driver.

Sent from my iPhone

Addendum

NB. There are two stations for Kendal, Kendal station is convenient for the town centre, located just across from the County Hotel,  Oxenholme is on the periphery.