By Deepesh Patel

Montreal's World Trade Center which is home to the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity

Montreal’s World Trade Center which is home to the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity

Having arrived in Montreal on Saturday night, I spent a while acclimitazing to the hot humid climate and overcoming my jet-lag! I ventured through downtown Montreal yesterday afternoon, photographing skyscrapers and trying to use the Metro. Being a non-French speaker, I think people struggled to understand my English, but my brilliant drawing abilities enabled the hotel staff to replace my broken coffee machine so that I was on top form for today!

Today I’ve had my first day visiting the Secretariat to the Convention on Biological Diversity. I’ve learnt so much about the complexities in conservation of biodiversity regarding international legislation, the economics of biodiversity loss and am now helping prepare a ‘Youth Guide to Forests’ as part of the International Year of Forests. Tomorrow I will be visiting Montreal Botanical Garden speaking and filming researchers and ethno botanists from the L’Institut de recherche en biologie végétale.